

Stanislaus County Disaster Council



November 1, 2012 Meeting Notes

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Monica Nino, Director of Emergency Services, at 10:05 p.m.

II. Roll Call

Disaster Council Members Present:

Chairman Monica Nino, Director, Stanislaus County Office of Emergency Services Secretary Gary Hinshaw, Assistant Director, Stanislaus County Office of Emergency Services

Supervisor Jim De Martini, Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors

Council Member David Geer, City of Modesto

Council Member Stephanie Burnside (Alternate), City of Modesto

Council Member Ed Katen, City of Newman

Council Member Don Hutchins (Alternate), City of Newman

Council Member Tom Dunlap, City of Oakdale

Council Member Dotty Nygard, City of Riverbank

Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford

Disaster Council Members Absent:

Council Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres Mayor Ramon Bawanan, City of Hughson Council Member Annette Smith, City of Patterson Council Member Mayor John Lazar, City of Turlock

III. Public Input

There was no public input.

IV. Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve the minutes from the January 20, 2011 Disaster Council meeting was made by Supervisor De Martini and was seconded by Council Member Murray Day. The motion passed unanimously.

V. Review Role of the Disaster Council

Chief Hinshaw, Secretary presented an overview of the role of the Disaster Council and discussed recent disasters that have and/or could affect the cities within Stanislaus County. These include fire, floods, trains and HazMat risks, as well as heat and cold related, food and agriculture and bio-safety events. He also discussed the risks involved with active shooters and other disasters that would impact our hospitals and shelters such as a major earthquake in the Bay area. At this time, we only have 6,000 spaces in our designated. Other risks such as power outages, levee breaks, H1N1, Avian Influenza, high rise fires, etc. were discussed.

Chief Hinshaw showed a video of the Minneapolis Bridge Collapse and a power point outlining the history and the roll of the Disaster Council in Stanislaus County. He also reviewed the Decision Process and the rolls of Threat Assessment Groups (TAGs) and the Stanislaus County Multi-Agency Coordinating System (MACs). In addition, Chief Hinshaw noted the requirements of Presidential Policy Directive 8 which directs national preparedness efforts to include the whole community including those with access and functional needs.

In conclusion, Chief Hinshaw noted that there is an upcoming ICS 402 Elected Official Class.

The topic of City Managers or Elected Officials serving on the Disaster Council was discussed. It was suggested that City Managers be invited to attend the Disaster Council Meetings. The Disaster Council requested that Staff research what other Counties in California are doing in regards to Disaster Council membership.

Action: Informational Item only.

VI. Disaster Service Worker Presentation

Deborah Thrasher, with MRFA/Stanislaus County OES presented a power point on the evolution and history of the Disaster Service Worker Program and the authority and role of the Disaster Council as it pertains to Disaster Service Workers. Deborah requested that the Disaster Council appoint a Specialist Group to draft recommendations on the steps required by the Disaster council and its parent organizations necessary for compliance with the State of California Disaster Service Worker Volunteer Program.

It was suggested that Tom Hallinan, who is the City Attorney for several of the cities on the Disaster Council, and the City Attorney for Turlock be a part of the Specialist Group.

Action: Motion by Council Member Tom Dunlap, City of Oakdale, second by Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford, to approve the appointment of a Specialist Group.

Ayes: Supervisor Jim De Martini, Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors

Council Members David Geer and Stephanie Burnside, City of Modesto

Council Members Don Hutchins, City of Newman Council Member Tom Dunlap, City of Oakdale Council Member Dotty Nygard, City of Riverbank Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford

Nays: None

Absent: Council Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres

Mayor Ramon Bawanan, City of Hughson

Council Member Annette Smith, City of Patterson Council Member Mayor John Lazar, City of Turlock

Abstain: None.

VII. Care and Shelter Operations Plan

Deborah Thrasher presented a Power Point Presentation outlining the Care and Shelter Plan for Stanislaus County and all of the agencies that are involved in the plan development. She noted that the County's Community Services Agency is the primary agency responsible for the operation of care and shelter services in Stanislaus County and that the County has a Memorandum of Understanding with American Red Cross to open and operate the shelters when requested by the Stanislaus County Emergency Operations Center (EOC). The Care and Shelter Plan was approved by the Operational Area Council (OAC) on July 19, 2012. The OAC recommended the plan be forwarded to the Disaster Council for consideration.

Action: Motion by Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford, second by Council

Member Dotty Nygard, City of Riverbank, to approve the Stanislaus County

Care and Shelter Plan.

Ayes: Supervisor Jim De Martini, Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors

Council Members David Geer and Stephanie Burnside, City of Modesto

Council Members Don Hutchins, City of Newman Council Member Tom Dunlap, City of Oakdale Council Member Dotty Nygard, City of Riverbank Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford

Nays: None

Absent: Council Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres

Mayor Ramon Bawanan, City of Hughson

Council Member Annette Smith, City of Patterson

Council Member Mayor John Lazar, City of Turlock

Abstain: None.

VIII. New Business

It was suggested that staff bring back suggestions for table top exercises for the Disaster Council.

IX. <u>Announcements/Reports</u>

None

X. Schedule Next Meeting

May, 2013 – Time and date to be determined.

XI. Close Meeting

The Meeting was adjourned at: 12:02 p.m.