

Stanislaus County Disaster Council



March 18, 2010 Meeting Notes

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Rick Robinson, Director of Emergency Services, at 1:40 p.m.

II. Roll Call

Disaster Council Members Present:

Chairman Rick Robinson, Director, Stanislaus County Office of Emergency Services Secretary Gary Hinshaw, Assistant Director, Stanislaus County Office of Emergency Services

Supervisor Jim De Martini, Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors Council Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres Mayor Ed Katen, City of Newman Mayor Farrell Jackson, City of Oakdale Council Member Dominic Farinha, City of Patterson Mayor Virginia Madueno, City of Riverbank Mayor John Lazar, City of Turlock Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford

Disaster Council Members Absent:

Mayor Ramon Bawanan, City of Hughson Mayor Jim Ridenour, City of Modesto

III. Public Input

There was no public input.

IV. Approval of Minutes

None

V. <u>Disaster Council Background and Video Presentation</u>

Chief Russ Richards gave a report on the background and history of Stanislaus County's Disaster Councils pointing to historical documents from 1950 and hand-written records from the County Board of Supervisors from 1955 through 1958.

Chief Hinshaw showed a video of the Minnesota bridge collapse, followed by a power point presentation highlighting the purpose and benefits of the Disaster Council as well as the membership, officers, and duties.

VI. Policies and Procedures

Chief Gary Hinshaw presented and discussed the draft Policies and Procedures Manual for the Disaster Council.

VII. Stanislaus County Emergency Operations Plan

Chief Gary Hinshaw presented the draft Stanislaus County Emergency Operations Plan for Approval as to Form/Content. Chief Hinshaw reviewed the guidance documents, plan format, authorities and references and hazards and threats for Stanislaus County. He discussed the roles of the Threat Assessment Group (TAG) and the Stan MAC. Chief Hinshaw also noted the number of activations of the Emergency Operations Center since 2006.

Action: Motion by Mayor Ed Katen, City of Newman, second by Mayor Farrell

Jackson, City of Oakdale.

Ayes: Chairman Rick Robinson, Director, Stanislaus County Office of Emergency

Services

Supervisor Jim De Martini, Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors

Council Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres

Mayor Ed Katen. City of Newman

Mayor Farrell Jackson, City of Oakdale

Council Member Dominic Farinha, City of Patterson

Mayor Virginia Madueno, City of Riverbank

Mayor John Lazar, City of Turlock

Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford

Nays: None

Absent: Mayor Ramon Bawanan, City of Hughson

Mayor Jim Ridenour, City of Modesto

Abstain: None.

VIII. Stanislaus County Medical-Health Surge Plan

Dr. John Walker presented the Stanislaus County Medical-Health Surge Plan for Approval as to form and content and distributed a hand out describing why, who and what the Medical-Health Surge Plan addresses. Dr. Walker noted that the entire plan had been sent to each Disaster Council Member electronically.

Dr. Walker responded to questions regarding mass casualties and the impact on the coroner/morgue services as well as mutual aid agreements with other regions.

Chief Hinshaw stressed the importance of communication and collaboration.

The issue of communication interoperability was discussed.

Action: Motion by Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford, second by Council

Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres

Ayes: Chairman Rick Robinson, Director, Stanislaus County Office of Emergency

Services

Supervisor Jim De Martini, Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors

Council Member Bret Durossette, City of Ceres

Mayor Ed Katen, City of Newman

Mayor Farrell Jackson, City of Oakdale

Council Member Dominic Farinha, City of Patterson

Mayor Virginia Madueno, City of Riverbank

Mayor John Lazar, City of Turlock

Council Member Murray Day, City of Waterford

Nays: None

Absent: Mayor Ramon Bawanan, City of Hughson

Mayor Jim Ridenour, City of Modesto

Abstain: None.

IX. New Business

Supervisor De Martini asked if each Disaster Council member position could have an alternative member designated. Chief Hinshaw responded that it was an available option.

X. <u>Announcements/Reports</u>

None

XI. Schedule Next Meeting

June 17, 2010 at 1:30 p.m.

XII. Close Meeting

The Meeting was adjourned at: 3:22 p.m.